Lab Members

Remembering Lino Saez

We are deeply saddened by the loss of our dear friend and colleague Lino Saez. Following an illness of several years, Lino passed away on October 24, 2014.

Lino made beautiful and important discoveries spanning the full breadth of his 30 years in our laboratory. He devised powerful techniques to explore, at the level of single cells, how a complex behavior can be built up from a few parts. He was the first to build pieces of a working clock in naïve cultured cells to explore their fundamental properties. His cell-based approach was extremely powerful and quickly adopted by others, critically advancing research in a variety of animal systems.

Lino was regarded by all of us as the heart and soul of the lab. He trained every technician, guided each new student and helped every new postdoc get underway. He was generous and kind, but always critical - pushing so that the best would show through in his colleagues. We are acutely diminished by his loss.

Young, Michael W.

Vice President for Academic Affairs
Richard and Jeanne Fisher Professor
Laboratory of Genetics
E-mail: Michael.Young@rockefeller.edu

Laboratory of Genetics

 


Adams, Eliza
Graduate Fellow
E-mail: eliza.adams@rockefeller.edu


Axelrod, Sofia
Postdoctoral Associate
E-mail: Sofia.Axelrod@rockefeller.edu


Campbell, Scott Searcy
Member of the Adjunct Faculty
E-mail: ScottSearcy.Campbell@rockefeller.edu


Collins-McGuire, Deborah
Administrator, Office of Academic Affairs & the Laboratory of Genetics
E-mail: Deborah.Collins-McGuire@rockefeller.edu


Crane, Brian
Visiting Professor
E-mail: brian.crane@rockefeller.edu


Hui, Yin Kwan
Laboratory Technician
E-mail: YinKwan.Hui@rockefeller.edu


Li, Wanhe
Postdoctoral Associate
E-mail: Wanhe.Li@rockefeller.edu


O'Neil, Jenna
Research Assistant
E-mail: Jenna.O'Neil@rockefeller.edu


Patke, Alina
Research Associate
E-mail: Alina.Patke@rockefeller.edu


Top, Deniz
Research Associate
E-mail: Deniz.Top@rockefeller.edu


Wang, Zikun
Graduate Fellow
E-mail: Zikun.Wang@rockefeller.edu


Young, Michael
Richard and Jeanne Fisher Professor, Vice President for Academic Affairs
E-mail: Michael.Young@rockefeller.edu