Skip to Main Content

Current Members



Stewart Barnes
Laboratory Administrator
Stewart.Barnes@rockefeller.edu



Postdoctoral Fellows and Associates

 



Nazario Bosco
Postdoc
Nazario.Bosco@rockefeller.edu



Ph.D. University of Rome/Sapienza
Thesis: Common fragile sites: structure, replication and their role in chromosome instability
Advisor: Franca Pelliccia

Postdoctoral Fellowships:
American-Italian Cancer Foundation 2011-2012

Research Interests:
The role of TRF1 is mediating telomere replication.

Nazario's Publications





Ylli Doksani
Postdoc
Ylli.Doksani@rockefeller.edu



Ph.D. The Open University, Walton Hall, Milton Keynes, UK. 2008
Thesis: Mechanisms Responding to DNA Double Strand Breaks During S-Phase
Advisor: Prof. Marco Foiani

Postdoctoral Fellowships:
Merck Fellowship 2010-2011
Life Sciences Research Foundation 2011-2014

Research Interests:
The role of t-loops in telomere biology.

Ylli's Publications

 



David Frescas
Postdoc
David.Frescas@rockefeller.edu



Ph.D. New York University, New York, 2008
Thesis: The JmjC-domain Containing Histone Demethylases KDM2A and KDM2B are Transcriptional Repressors of RNA Molecules Encoded by DNA Repeats
Advisor: Dr. Michele Pagano

Postdoctoral Fellowships:
American Cancer Society Fellowship 2010-2012

Research interests:
The molecular role of TIN2 in dyskeratosis congenita

David's Publications

 



Yi Gong
Research Associate
Yi.Gong@rockefeller.edu



PhD UT Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas, 2006
Thesis: Mechanistic dissection of Insig-1, a master regulator of cholesterol homeostasis.
Advisors: Dr. Michael Brown and Dr. Joseph Goldstein

Postdoctoral Fellowships:
Anderson Cancer Center Postdoctoral Fellowship 2007-2009

Research interests:
DNA damage response.

Yi's Publications

 



Tatsuya Kibe
Postdoc
Tatsuya.Kibe@mail.rockefeller.edu


PhD: Shizuoka University, 2007
Thesis: The novel role of fission yeast RPA in telomere maintenance.
Advisor: Dr. Masaru M UenoS, Shizuoka University, 2004

Research Interests:
DNA damage and the relationship between telomere structure and cell cycle.

Postdoctoral Fellewships/Awards:
Research Fellow of Japan Society for the Promotion of Science 2006
Toyobo Biotechnology Foundation Fellowship 2008

Tatsuya's Publications

 



Katja Kratz
Postdoc
Katja.Kratz@rockefeller.edu

 

PhD: ETH Zurich, 2010
Thesis: Biochemical characterization of KIAA1018/FAN1, a novel endonuclease involved in interstrand cross-link repair
Advisor: Dr. Josef Jiricny

Postdoctoral Fellowships:
EMBO Long-Term Fellowship 2012-2013
Women & Science Fellowship 2013-2014

Research Interests:
Mechanistic insights into repression of ATR signaling at telomeres by shelterin.

Katja's Publications

 



Francisca Alessandra Lottersberger
Postdoc
Francisca.Lottersberger@rockefeller.edu


PhD: University of Milano-Bicocca, 2008
Thesis: Functions of Saccharomyces cerevisiae 14-3-3 proteins in cell cycle regulation and DNA metabolism
Advisor: Dr. Maria PIa Longhese

Postdoctoral Fellowships:
Women & Science Fellowship 2008-2009

Research Interests:
Identification of new factors involved in DNA damage response and telomere maintenance.

Francisca's Publications

 



Courtney Lovejoy
Helena Rubinstein Postdoctoral Fellow
Courtney.Lovejoy@rockefeller.edu


Ph.D. Vanderbilt University Nashville, TN, 2009
Thesis: Replication Dependent Mechanisms of Genome Maintenance
Advisor: Dr. David Cortez

Postdoctoral Fellowships:
Anderson Cancer Center Postdoctoral Fellowship 2010-2011
Department of Defense Breast Cancer Research Foundation 2011-2014

Research Interests:
Telomeric inhibition of DNA damage response signaling.

Courtney's Publications

 

 



John Maciejowski
John.Maciejowski@rockefeller.edu

 

Ph.D. Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, 2013
Thesis: Chemical genetics reveals novel Mps1 functions and identifies substrates in mitosis
Advisor: Prasad V. Jallepalli

Research Interests:
How telomeres maintain genome stability.

John's Publications

 

 


Isabelle Schmutz
Postdoc
Isabelle.Schmutz@rockefeller.edu

 

Ph.D. University of Fribourg, Switzerland, 2010
Thesis: Molecular functions of the mammalian clock component PERIOD2
Advisor: Urs Albrecht

Postdoctoral Fellowships:
Swiss National Science Foundation Fellowship, 2011-2012

Research Interests:
Regulation of PARP1 activity at telomeres.

Isabelle's Publications

 



Hiro Takai
Research Assistant Professor
Hiroyuki.Takai@rockefeller.edu



PhD: The University of Tokyo Graduate School of Science, 1995
Thesis: Studies on the regulatory mechanisms for the initiation of sperm motility in marine and freshwater teleosts.
Advisor: Dr. Masaaki Morisawa

Research interests:
Regulation of PIKKs by Tel2

Post Doctoral Fellowships/Awards:
Charles H. Revson Fellowship 2002-2003

Hiro's Publications

 

 



Michal Zimmermann
Postdoc
Michal.Zimmermann@rockefeller.edu



Ph.D. Masaryk University, Brno, Czech Republic, 2013
Thesis: Protein-DNA interactions involved in regulation of telomere maintenance
Advisor: Ctirad Hofr

Research Interests:
the role of Rif1 in controlling resection at double-strand breaks.

Michal's Publications

 

Graduate Students



Shaheen Kabir
Graduate Fellow
Shaheen.Kabir@rockefeller.edu



BS in Biology, Haverford College, Haverford, PA 2005
Thesis: Characterizing S. cerevisiae strains Sch9as, ∆KKQ8 and ∆CRF1

Shaheen's Publications

 



Roos Anna Karssemeijer
Graduate Fellow
RoosAnna.Karssemeijer@rockefeller.edu



BSc in Biomedical Sciences, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands 2008
MSc in Immunity and Infection, Utrecht University, The Netherlands 2010

Research Interests:
Characterizing the role of 53BP1 in the DNA damage response at telomeres

Fellowships:
Women and Science graduate fellow 2011-2012
Helmsley Graduate Fellow 2012-2013
Boehringer Ingelheim PhD Fellowship 2013-2015

Roos' Publications

 

 

Research Assistants


Adriana Garzon
Lab Manager

Adriana.Garzon@rockefeller.edu

M.A., City College of New York, 2008

M.S., Universidad de los Andes, 2001

 



Rosaura Mejia
Lab Helper

Rosaura.Mejia@rockefeller.edu

 



Kaori Takai
Research Assistant
Kaori.Takai@rockefeller.edu

M.S., Hunter College of the City University of New York, 2006

Kaori's Publications

 



Devon White
Animal Technician II
Devon.White@rockefeller.edu